A Warm Welcome

It has been almost three months since I vowed to properly start this blog. In fact it has really been longer as I dabbled with Tumblr for a few years and I struggled to find a direction for my voice. What I wanted to write about has always been a complicated subject in my life. I’m still not entirely sure it’s what I want to  have as the full focus of my blog.The catalyst to start blogging about adoption, happened last year . I was kindly given the opportunity to write a guest adoptee post for National Adoption Week by Al Coates. Al blogs over at the ‘Misadventures of an Adoptive Dad’ and recently won the accolade of  ‘Adoption Blogger of the Year’.

They do say ‘write what you know’. Being mixed race and an adoptee is what I know. It has been a part of my life since I’ve been alive. I grew up questioning and being fascinated by not just my own experiences but by other people’s too. Possibly what lead to me to studying Psychology and working with children and young people.

I expect that at times I may have to take a step back however I hope that this blog will help me explore adoption, care and ethnicity in a way that will raise awareness and hopefully to expand my experiences well beyond my own. If I feel the need to step back, I might write some posts which are of a more light hearted nature. Not that this blog will be doom and gloom-I hope.

 

Leave a comment